Food

Foodie Friday

About a week ago my mom stopped by and gave us this HUGE zucchini. And when I say huge, I mean the size of a watermelon. I literally thought she had brought us a watermelon. This thing threw me through a freaking loop.

IMG_3067

What do you even do with a zucchini that size?? My husband and I are used to ones that are similar to a cucumber in size. Those we can easily run through our zoodle hand twister and eat them as a pasta substitute.. but what the heck could we do with this one?

My mother had the answer for us; she suggested we run it through the food processor and freeze it for zucchini bread. What a perfect solution!

IMG_3068

Cutting it up and getting it to the correct blended consistency was the hardest part. But once we were done, we were left with 21 cups of portioned out zucchini.

IMG_3070

And what do you do after processing 21 cups of a giant zucchini? You actually make some bread of course.

The only issue with that was that I didn’t have a zucchini bread recipe. Not to fear! My mom said that I could just use my Great Aunt Bernice Rice’s carrot bread recipe and substitute the carrot for the processed zucchini.So without further ado:

Great Aunt Bernice Rice’s Carrot Bread Recipe

Cooking time: 1hr / Serves: 1 loaf  /  Preheat Oven: 375*

Ingredients: 

2 eggs- 1 cup sugar- 3/4 cup vegetable oil- 1 1/2 cups flour- 1 tsp. baking soda- 1 tsp. baking powder- 1/4 tsp. salt- 1 cup grated carrots (substitute the zucchini!)- 1/2 cup chopped nuts- 1 tsp. cinnamon

Instructions:

  1. Combine eggs & sugar; add vegetable oil & mix well.
  2.  Add flour, baking soda, baking powder, cinnamon, & salt.
  3.  Stir in carrots (zucchini!) & nuts.
  4.  Pour into an un-greased 5″x 9″ bread pan.
  5.  Bake @ 375* for 1 hour.

Fair warning: We didn’t have any baking powder and so I skipped that ingredient. We also didn’t have any nuts (which is fine because husband hates nuts in his bread anyway) so I skipped those too. I also only have a twist container of sea salt.. so I just guesstimated that 10 turns of the twister was about 1/4 tsp.

But with all of that said and forgotten..

IMG_3071

The bread was delicious.

IMG_3073

Please ignore the wedding paper plates, we’re still making our way through what was left over from our wedding shower.

We like to put some melted butter on out bread and it gives it that extra something special.

If you have a different recipe, feel free to share!

Do you have any other ideas on what you’d like to see made?

Let me know if you try this recipe at home!

Leave a Reply

