Food

Foodie Friday

I’m going to start this post by saying that my family are all meat eaters. We grew up on a dairy farm and were dirt poor, so my dad raised (humanely of course) our food and hunted for the rest of it.

Even with getting new jobs, moving to a different state, and affording to buy our meat now, he still loves to raise/ hunt for it himself.

If you’re not into this or if you think that animals are not food, then you should probably stop reading this post- I promise that you probably won’t like it and it may very well upset you.

With that being said, my dad has been raising rabbits this past summer and he recently got around to- shall we say- harvesting them. He had an abundance and gifted my husband and I with a whole one to try and cook.

Let me just tell you.. being handed a whole frozen rabbit (thankfully it was already skinned) by your father is a strange experience. My husband loved it though! He’s very interested in trying different types of meats, and we loved it the last time that my father cooked it for us.

We decided that we would grill it with some homemade Cornell Sauce.

The first thing we did was to cut the rabbit up into smaller, grilling friendly pieces.

IMG_3168

Kind of looks like chicken, right? I can tell you that rabbit is a meat quite like chicken, except that it’s more tender when you actually eat it.

After doing that, it was time to mix up the Cornell Sauce:

Cornell Chicken Barbecue Sauce/Finger Lakes Marinade Recipe

Developed by the late Robert C. Baker, Professor of Poultry Science and Food Science.

Recipe for Barbeque Sauce (enough for 10 halves):

1 cup cooking oil
1 pint cider vinegar
3 tablespoons salt
1 tablespoon poultry seasoning
1/2 teaspoon pepper
1 egg

Beat the egg, then add the oil and beat again. Add other ingredients and stir. The recipe can be varied to suit individual tastes.

It should turn out something like this:

IMG_3169

After it was mixed, we let the rabbit marinate in it for a few hours and then plopped it on the grill. Let me tell you- this stuff was delicious! I’m so excited for the next time that we make this sauce. So good.

IMG_3189

Those little mini ribs were delicious but hard to actually eat. While the rabbit was cooking, I plopped some squash and yams into the oven at 400* and cooked them until tender.

IMG_3187

Unfortunately I didn’t take any photos of the finished plates (probably because we were starving after working all day and we just wanted to eat), but rest assured that it was so so good.

Happily,

Aubrey

Leave a Reply

