Fitness

Workout schedule for the new year

2017 is the year that I’m going to put my excuses away and really buckle down. I know a lot of you may think that what I have in mind is a little intense, but for me it’s what works well.

My husband and I are fortunate enough to be able to work flexibly and with overtime. Most of our days we’ll work 7am-4:30pm. I’m not great about working a 9 hour day and then getting home and working out. Instead I like to get my workouts done in the morning or during my lunch break.

In order to get my workouts in in the morning I will either need to wake up 4 or 4:30am and so my schedule that I have in mind right now goes as follows:

  • Monday:
    • 4am wake up
    • Run 1 mile
    • 30 day shred video
  • Tuesday:
    • 4:30 wake up
    • 30 day shred video
    • Run 2-4 miles during lunch
  • Wednesday:
    • 4am wake up
    • Run 1 mile
    • 30 day shred Video
  • Thursday:
    • 4:30 wake up
    • 30 day shred video
    • Run 2-4 miles during lunch
  • Friday:
    • 4am wake up
    • Run 1 mile
    • 30 day shred video
  • Saturday:
    • 7am wake up
    • Long run (3-11 miles)
    • 30 day shred video
  • Sunday:
    • 8am wake up
    • Run 2-3 miles
    • 30 day shred video

I plan to do this for the entire month of January and am pretty excited about what I can accomplish. It will be my first time attempting a run streak and I plan on documenting my experiences right here on the blog.

What do you usually do for workouts throughout the week?

Happily,

Aubrey

4 thoughts on “Workout schedule for the new year

  1. Good on you for being able to wake up this early! I’ve tried various types of workout and I find that a combination of cardio and weight lifting is the best fit for me. On a typically week, I would do 5-6 days of weight lifting and include 3-4 cardio sessions. This is what my typical week usually look like:
    Monday: Legs
    Tuesday: Back + biceps + HIIT
    Wednesday: Triceps + Chest + HIIT
    Thursday: Legs
    Friday: Back + biceps + HIIT
    Saturday: Shoulders + LISS
    Sunday: Rest day
    This works quite well for me and I have seen great results. If I don’t feel like going to the gym, I’ll do a home workout, usually one by Kayla Itsines (BBG).

    Like

    1. That sounds great! Waking up early definately isn’t a walk in the park, but it’s what I need to do to make sure I get a workout in. A girl at my work has had AMAZING results with BBG. I’m really considering doing it if I can make it through the 30 day shred.

      Like

      1. I would strongly suggest it! I’ve never heard of anyone not getting great results doing BBG. I’m home for Christmas so I have not been going to the gym as much, but I have been doing BBG and I’m so sore!

        Like

Leave a Reply

